While EV1 now seems to have removed the two main spammed sites, search-pharmacy-online.com, and online-search-catalog.com, these were only two of the 29 related sites I’d found on EV1 over the last few weeks. The continuing guestbook spamming today prompts me to post fuller details below. If your guestbook and blog (or e-mail) has been spammed by comments that point (redirects are normally used) to any of these EV1-hosted sites, please let me know by e-mail or leave a comment on this post. The ARIN whois details used on the block of EV1 addresses involved may be false.
2 May – update. Some of these sites are now dead or on the move to other hosts. This list below is as it was yesterday, 1 May. Annotated with current status (as at 2 May) in brackets.
Read more…
Tags:
A guestbook spammer has used my name and e-mail address more than 40,000 times to promote pay-per-click pharmacy search sites hosted by Everyones Internet (EV1, EV1Servers), the largest independent ISP in the United States. Sneaky, eh? My story – An unwelcome guest of spam – in the Guardian newspaper today tells you more.
There are 40,700 hits of my details in Google this morning thanks to the spammer’s continued activity. My inbox has received over 1,300 unwanted e-mails from spammed guestbooks and some blogs (it’s fortunate that very few sites send automatic acknowledgements).
Everyones Internet was in a strong position to persuade klikvip.com (the owner of the spammed sites which a Klikvip.com affiilate is promoting by spam) to stop the abuse in March. There is, after all, an acceptable use policy. But EV1 repeatedly refused to talk to me and, judging by the continued spamming, has done nothing whatsoever to help. Charles Arthur, Guardian newspaper technology editor, also tried to contact EV1 on Monday – his messages were not returned either.
Read more…
If you’re looking for the Michael Pollitt who left a spam message in your guestbook (or in other response forms), it wasn’t me. And it wasn’t me that sent you a spam e-mail. If your guestbook has been spammed and the sites listed in the message (or link) redirect to search-pharmacy-online.com or online-search-catalog.com at Everyones Internet (EV1), please send a complaint to abuse@ev1.net.
I’ve discovered two more IPs for the guestbook spammer. 195.225.177.89 – netcathost.com – in the Ukraine. 81.177.15.44 – In-Telecom Ltd – in Russia. The spammed sites in the guestbook messages redirect to search-pharmacy-online.com which is hosted by Everyones Internet (EV1). See all my posts about the guestbook spammer. I’m continuing to push EV1 for explanations.
EV1 sales has just told me this via a chat session: “at this time they [abuse] are in contact with the customer and they are investigating the issue and will keep in contact with you…” I asked if this meant the owner of the spam sites…”correct the customer who is spamming.” I used chat as my e-mails to senior management were not (and still have not been) answered. They don’t want to talk on the phone to a journalist either: “I’m sorry but we do not have anyone who will make comments” and suggested I e-mailed the boss but I’d done that already several times. Meanwhile, I’m still getting acknowledgement e-mails from the guestbooks being spammed. And the number of guestbooks being spammed in my name is going up too.
Read more…
Tags: