Search Results

Keyword: ‘guestbook spammer’

Success with Akismet

July 6th, 2006 3 comments

Good news this morning from WV Fiber, the upstream provider to Inhoster. My complaints about two Inhoster IPs – 85.255.117.18 and 85.255.117.250 – were finally listened to after hundreds of comment spam were sent to my blog. I used Akismet to trap the deluge with the Akismet worst offenders extension providing running totals.

Inhoster proved non-responsive to my abuse complaints so WV Fiber has now ‘null routed’ both IPs, cutting them off from the world – and your blog or guestbook. Many people will recognise Ukrainian-based Inhoster as the source of much spam on the Internet. Inhoster is connected to the internet by a US-based company, WV Fiber, which now seems willing to pull the plug on its Ukrainian customer. Thank you, WV Fiber.

If you have any spam from Inhoster IPs (85.255.112.0 – 85.255.127.255), send an e-mail to WV Fiber Abuse Department with the appropriate evidence (copies of the spam and, if possible, access log entries) and request similar action. [Please see amended advice on spam reporting at the end of this post]
Read more…

  • Share/Bookmark
Tags:

On the trail of the spammers

May 11th, 2006 3 comments

A web hosting company that delayed five weeks before alerting its customer to spamming abuse, a search across eastern Europe, and a demand for money are all ingredients of my story – On the trail of the spammers – in today’s Guardian newspaper. It’s the follow-up to the earlier An unwelcome guest of spam (27 April) and Charles Arthur’s Why has The Guardian been spamming my blog? (4 May)

Read more…

  • Share/Bookmark
Tags:

Stopping the guestbook spammer – part 5

May 1st, 2006 1 comment

While EV1 now seems to have removed the two main spammed sites, search-pharmacy-online.com, and online-search-catalog.com, these were only two of the 29 related sites I’d found on EV1 over the last few weeks. The continuing guestbook spamming today prompts me to post fuller details below. If your guestbook and blog (or e-mail) has been spammed by comments that point (redirects are normally used) to any of these EV1-hosted sites, please let me know by e-mail or leave a comment on this post. The ARIN whois details used on the block of EV1 addresses involved may be false.

2 May – update. Some of these sites are now dead or on the move to other hosts. This list below is as it was yesterday, 1 May. Annotated with current status (as at 2 May) in brackets.

Read more…

  • Share/Bookmark
Tags: